margaret gillies brown

Margaret Gillies Brown was born near Edinburgh. She trained to be a nurse in Dundee Royal Infirmary gaining her S.R.N. in 1952. She married a farmer shortly afterwards and has lived all of her married life on Perthshire farms except for three years when the family emigrated to Canada. She had seven children and after they grew up travelled extensively.

Margaret started writing seriously over thirty years ago. It was mostly poetry to begin with and she has had many poems published in magazines and anthologies, plus eight collections of her own. More recently she has had three books of biography published and is currently working on a fourth.


Give Me the Hillrun Boys (Outpost)
The Voice in the Marshes (Outpost)
Hares on the Horizon (Outpost)
Looking Towards Light (Blind Serpent)
No Promises (Akros)
Footsteps of the Goddess (Akros)
Of Rowan and Pearl (with Kenneth Steven; Argyll)
Sang o the Mavis (Diehard)
Far from the Rowan Tree (Argyll)
Around the Rowan Tree (Argyll)
The Wind in her Hands (Argyll)

  One Response to “About”

  1. Welcome to the site, Margaret. Great poems and photos!

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>